Agriturismo Poggiacolle

Strada di Montauto, 58 -, San Gimignano 53037 San Gimignano (Siena)

"Excellent"
Based on 57 reviews
  • Setting and surroundings
    10/10
    "Wonderful"
  • Activities and facilities
    9,4/10
    "Excellent"
  • Accommodation
    9,6/10
    "Excellent"
Have you visited this agriturismo?
  • 10
    "Amazing"

    "What a Fantastic Place"

    10/07/2014

    My Wife and I visited Italy last month for our 25th anniversery, and this place was the absolute best part! If I would've know how amazing this experience was going to be, we would have stayed here for our entire trip. Stefano was extremely helpful to us, not just with hospitality but with helping us know where to go and giving us suggestions of what to do. He also had a bottle of wine ready for my wife and I upon our arrival! Also, Marcella made the best fresh breakfast and coffee every morning, it was fantastic! The whole experience was amazing, and the icing on the cake was the view, absolutley gorgeous! Overall, I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who is looking for an amazing place to stay in Tuscany, it doesn't get any better than this!
    (Translated with Google Translate)

    Read the original
    • Stay: 9/2014
    • Traveller: Couples
    • Holiday: Romantic
    • Setting and surroundings
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Accommodation
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Activities and facilities
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Restaurant
      10/10
      "Amazing"
  • 10
    "Amazing"

    "Unforgettable"

    09/14/2014

    First of all: Thank you Stephen! Poggiacolle and an awesome place. The apartments are comfortable and clean, well furnished and have everything neccesary to live longer and longer. After 4 weeks of perfect rest Poggiacolle want to go back next year.
    (Translated with Google Translate)

    Read the original
    • Stay: 8/2014
    • Traveller: Groups of friends
    • Holiday: Long stays
    • Setting and surroundings
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Accommodation
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Activities and facilities
      10/10
      "Amazing"
  • 8
    "Very good"

    "A great place to relax with plenty of local interest"

    08/12/2014

    We just had a fantastic week at Poggiacolle, two families stayed together in the apartment. There was plenty of space for all 9 of us, with each bedroom having en-suite facilities. The infinity pool provided a space to relax and cool down, and the table tennis kept us occupied. The walk into town was achievable with children and Stephano provided information and help as needed. Thank you!

    • Stay: 8/2014
    • Traveller: Families with children
    • Holiday: Fun
    • Setting and surroundings
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Accommodation
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Activities and facilities
      8/10
      "Very good"
  • 10
    "Amazing"

    "Incredible!"

    07/16/2014

    We stayed at the Poggiacolle with friends last week as we traveled through Italy. The property is simply stunning with picture-perfect views over the San Gimignano valley.The location was ideal and we were able to explore nearby Tuscan hill-towns like Volterra, Siena and Castellina. The accommodation was charming and rustic, yet had modern conveniences like a fully-fitted kitchen and a modern bathroom. There was a variety of games equipment to keep the kids entertained. Our host, Stefano, was amazing. Even though his wife had just had a baby, he was patient and helpful and made sure we were well taken care of. Overall, 5 stars to the Poggiacolle - the sunsets, the vineyards, the towers of San Gimignano in the distance, the fog rolling in from the hills, the church bells pealing across the countryside. This is the Italy of the coffee-table books. Pack your bags and go!
    (Translated with Google Translate)

    Read the original
    • Stay: 7/2014
    • Traveller: Independent travellers
    • Holiday: Artistic-cultural
    • Setting and surroundings
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Accommodation
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Activities and facilities
      10/10
      "Amazing"
  • 10
    "Amazing"

    "Want to come back"

    06/09/2014

    We had eight adults and stayed on the second floor. The common room was perfect for getting together. The bathrooms very nice and newly remodeled. The view of San Gimignano and the countryside spectacular. Stefano is a very good guide. Breakfast was very good, and necessary, since town is a drive away. Thanks, Stefano!

    • Stay: 5/2014
    • Holiday: Fun
    • Setting and surroundings
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Accommodation
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Activities and facilities
      10/10
      "Amazing"
  • 10
    "Amazing"

    "Perfect place to stay in Toscany!"

    05/22/2014

    The rooms have a gorgous view of Tuscany and they are very comfy and clean! The breakfast is delicious! The surrounding is SO nice, with the winery and all the Toscany charm! It is very quite and peacefull, great place to relax and rest after a busy day. Stefano is very nice and helpful! I TOTALY recomend a cooking class with his parents!!! They are so cute and nice, and it is priceless to cook pasta with an old italian lady! You can book/schedule it with Stefano. But I HIGHLY recomend to rent a car!!!! The buses and the trains have horrible schedules, so it is stressing to get at Poggiacolle and leave from there if you dont have a car!
    (Translated with Google Translate)

    Read the original
    • Stay: 5/2014
    • Traveller: Couples
    • Holiday: Romantic
    • Setting and surroundings
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Accommodation
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Activities and facilities
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Restaurant
      10/10
      "Amazing"
  • 10
    "Amazing"

    "Poggiacolle farm"

    05/21/2014

    A true heaven on earth!!! I have been there more than once and I have to admit that it is always a great pleasure to go back and spend time at Poggiacolle!
    (Translated with Google Translate)

    Read the original
    • Stay: 5/2014
    • Holiday: Relaxing
    • Setting and surroundings
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Accommodation
      8/10
      "Very good"
    • Activities and facilities
      10/10
      "Amazing"
  • 10
    "Amazing"

    "Poggiacolle wonderful"

    05/15/2014

    A haven for the spirit. An old farmhouse fully modernized to spend an unforgettable time in the Tuscan countryside. Folks, our first stop. Highly recommended.
    (Translated with Google Translate)

    Read the original
    • Stay: 5/2014
    • Setting and surroundings
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Accommodation
      8/10
      "Very good"
    • Activities and facilities
      8/10
      "Very good"
  • 10
    "Amazing"

    "The perfect place for some relaxing days in Tuscany!"

    05/15/2014

    A lovely place with a beautiful view over the Tuscany hills and San Gimignano! Located in the middle of vineyards and olive trees. Biking distance to San Gimignano (2 km) and mountain bikes are available at the agriturismo. Outdoor swimming pool with a terrific view. Very lovely, friendly and helpful staff. Very clean. Excellent breakfast. Perfectly located for day trips to other places in Tuscany (45 min drive to Florence or Sienna).
    (Translated with Google Translate)

    Read the original
    • Stay: 5/2014
    • Traveller: Couples
    • Holiday: Romantic
    • Setting and surroundings
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Accommodation
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Activities and facilities
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Restaurant
      10/10
      "Amazing"
  • 10
    "Amazing"

    "Superb"

    10/29/2013

    We spent 8 wonderful days in Poggiacolle, a beautiful place, silencio in the countryside, environment toscanese. All very clean, nice swimming pool. Stefano very friendly and accommodating, speaks well English. The Marcella has served the breakfast, even a few times out times - always nice. Effective and free WiFi.
    (Translated with Google Translate)

    Read the original
    • Stay: 9/2013
    • Traveller: Independent travellers
    • Holiday: Artistic-cultural
    • Setting and surroundings
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Accommodation
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Activities and facilities
      10/10
      "Amazing"
  • 10
    "Amazing"

    "enchanting"

    07/08/2013

    We have just spent a fabulous weekend at this wonderful place overlooking the towers of S. Gimignano. If I had lived for so I would think that it is fake is beautiful. Perfect in the landscape, the houses are wonderful, the pool a pleasure and the warm welcome. We booked the holiday in August and we can not wait!
    (Translated with Google Translate)

    Read the original
    • Stay: 7/2013
    • Traveller: Motorcyclists
    • Holiday: Relaxing
    • Setting and surroundings
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Accommodation
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Activities and facilities
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Restaurant
      10/10
      "Amazing"
  • 10
    "Amazing"

    "5 stars for a great accommodation"

    06/18/2013

    We spent a long weekend in bella Italia and were absolutely pleased with our accommodations at Stefano. The apartment had two very generous to us, the kitchen is equipped with everything you need. The bed was very comfortable and very nice, we found that the bed was made every day during our absence. Another highlight is the free Wi-Fi access throughout the apartment, which was a surprise for us. Breakfast is lovingly prepared and family and set up, while the good soul Marcella speaks neither English nor German, but we got every morning just the coffee that we wanted to. Since it was cold unverhätnismäßig with us, we asked one evening by the fireplace in the kitchen, for Stefano it was natural that we should us out on firewood use and may stir up the oven. It was cozy! The grounds are beautifully maintained, the furniture and garden beds as it is much more modern still displayed on the page. We would have had theoretically also can help us to rent bikes, we just have not done due to time constraints. Conclusion: Highly recommended! Tip: At the Trattoria "Il Grillo" (by car about 10 minutes to Volterra) you can enjoy a fantastic meal and drink! Thank you, Stefano, for this beautiful weekend!
    (Translated with Google Translate)

    Read the original
    • Stay: 5/2013
    • Traveller: Couples
    • Holiday: Short stays
    • Setting and surroundings
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Accommodation
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Activities and facilities
      10/10
      "Amazing"
  • 10
    "Amazing"

    "The wonderful Tuscany"

    05/19/2013

    We spent a week in Tuscany, we found ourselves very well. We recommend this place to everyone! Do not write so fly, you have to see this! The room was very nice with a beautiful view of San Gimignano and also the pool you could see the whole city. The kitchen is well equipped, you will find everything to prepare a true Italian dish. A special thanks to Marcella for breakfast delicious! From Poggaicello you can make excellent day trips and is easy to reach the famous cities of Tuscany. Lilac & Csaba, Marina & Gyuri
    (Translated with Google Translate)

    Read the original
    • Stay: 4/2013
    • Traveller: Couples
    • Holiday: Fun
    • Setting and surroundings
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Accommodation
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Activities and facilities
      10/10
      "Amazing"
  • 10
    "Amazing"

    "Stay summer"

    04/18/2013

    An excellent site in a beautiful house. We spent two consecutive summers enjoying privileged location among vineyards and with superb views of the town. Stefano helps make everything easy and friendly but with a site like yours does not break a sweat,
    (Translated with Google Translate)

    Read the original
    • Stay: 8/2012
    • Traveller: Groups of friends
    • Holiday: Relaxing
    • Setting and surroundings
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Accommodation
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Activities and facilities
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Restaurant
      10/10
      "Amazing"
  • 10
    "Amazing"

    "The perfect Tuscany retreat."

    11/28/2012

    My husband and I stayed 5 nights at Poggiacolle during Oct and Nov 2012 in the studio-flat. We could not have been more pleased. The other reviews here you read are true- Stefano is a wonderful host, and with our limited our Italian we were grateful for his impeccable English. While we had planned some outings, we wanted local recommendations to fill in our time and Stefano provided these excellently, allowing us to make the most of our limited and precious time at this beautiful estate. We had one interesting interaction with an employee of a local vendor - truly not a big deal and something we brushed off as a lost-in-translation moment, but the next morning Stefano had apparently been fully informed, and had the owner of the establishment on the telephone to offer us their personal apologies. We were flabbergasted- it wasn't necessary, but we felt very well taken care of and appreciated the fact that the San Gimignano establishments consider Stefano's guests to be A-list!

    The proximity to San Gimignano is excellent. I am a runner and I would say it is walkable, my husband would disagree, so if you are on the fence on this, expect to use your car or take the bikes Stefano makes available. Really, Poggiacolle is in a valley and San Gimignano is on the mountain. We chose to take the car each time. The parking lots in San Gimignano are relatively expensive so prepare for that- but that is the same no matter where you stay. Expect to add on $10 USD to your daily outing for parking.

    Conveniences: Stefano is widely available to make recommendations and reservations, there is quick, complimentary internet service available in the pleasant common areas, and the wash is available and free (no automatic dryer, but you can do this at the laundromat in San Gimignano during the rainy season if neessary). And oh.... the breakfast!! The breakfast at San Gimignano is perfect - very continental but just what you need to start your day and Marcella is a dream. Coffee to order, just how you like it, or how she knows you really will like it. We Amazon-ed the traditional Italian coffee pot immediately when we came home, and a month later my husband is exasperated at hearing "It's good.. but it isn't like Marcella made it....". I recall one review requesting that Marcella speak better English. I politely disagree and ask everyone else just to break out your phrasebook - we may never have communicated very deeply with Marcella, but we found her to be (1) an excellent breakfast hostess and baronista, and (2) interested in communicating with us across the language barriers- we learned about her children and animals, she learned where we lived and how many pets we had, etc. We like Marcella just as she is, and we hope to improve our Italian!

    Regarding the studio-apartment, don't hesitate to take this. I had another first choice from the pictures, but as that wasn't available Stefano suggested this. It is very tastefully done- the downstairs kitchinette is quite compact but manageable if you must cook inside, the upstairs bedroom and bathroom are roomy. All are well stocked with everything you might need (wine glasses, hair dryer, wine glasses.... :) ). We were pleasantly surprised at the daily cleaning service (not necessarily par-for-the-course at an agriturismo, which operates more akin to a vacation-time-share in the States in that regard). The studio apartment does share the same building that the breakfast room does, and you can hear some noise from that in the morning after 8 am if you are a light sleeper as I am. Hopefully this is a welcome wakeup call to go enjoy everything that is waiting for you just outside your door! Otherwise, just wait a few moments and it will subside.

    Important: there are no hidden fees at Poggiacolle- you are their guest, and you have access to all the amenities they advertise.

    In sum, we enjoyed our trip to Poggiacolle immensely, would return (can't wait to!), and certainly would recommend it to our family and friends. If you are lucky enough to go to Poggiacolle, please tell Stefano and Marcella "bongiorno!" from us!!

    • Stay: 11/2012
    • Traveller: Couples
    • Holiday: Honeymoons
    • Setting and surroundings
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Accommodation
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Activities and facilities
      10/10
      "Amazing"
Loading
Farmhouse added to favorites
Farmhouse removed from favorites