contactModalFeedback

Agriturismo Casale Poggio del Tiglio

via San Giovannello 1B, Fleri 95029 Viagrande (Catania)

"Excellent"
Based on 75 reviews
  • Setting and surroundings
    9,3/10
    "Excellent"
  • Activities and facilities
    8,8/10
    "Very good"
  • Accommodation
    9,2/10
    "Excellent"
  • Restaurant
    9/10
    "Excellent"
Have you visited this agriturismo?
  • 10
    "Amazing"

    "A special holiday"

    05/22/2019

    Professionalism and kindness made our vacation perfect.
    The owners are kind and make the guests feel at ease. As far as the cuisine is concerned, they use quality 0 km raw materials and the dishes are very well cared for. Also suitable for families with children because children have the opportunity to interact with the animals in this farm and then everything is surrounded by beautiful nature.
    (Translated with DeepL Translate)

    Read the original
    • Stay: 5/2019
    • Traveller: Families with children
    • Holiday: Fun
    • Setting and surroundings
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Accommodation
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Activities and facilities
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Restaurant
      10/10
      "Amazing"
  • 10
    "Amazing"

    "Cordialità e confort"

    05/16/2019

    Sono rimasto positivamente colpito da questo agriturismo, è stata una splendida idea soggiornarvi insieme ad un gruppo di amici. Buonissima la colazione con prodotti genuini e ottima la cena, abbiamo mangiato divinamente tutti i piatti che ci hanno servito. Simpatici, cordiali e con un senso dell'accoglienza davvero unica. La location è inoltre strategicamente situata nel mezzo della natura, e proprio questo dà una sensazione di relax al primo impatto.

    • Stay: 5/2019
    • Traveller: Groups of friends
    • Holiday: Fun
    • Setting and surroundings
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Accommodation
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Activities and facilities
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Restaurant
      10/10
      "Amazing"
  • 2
    "Poor"

    "Nice Grounds, Poor Service"

    11/07/2018

    We booked this place thinking it would be a warm Sicilian family welcoming us to their property and teaching us about Sicily and the tourism in the area, instead we werent welcomed at all and had to fend for ourselves for basically everything. Here is a walk through of our experience.
    - Arrived in a horrible rain storm, and didnt have instructions on how to enter the property so I got soaked trying to figure out how to get in the gates. The owners do not speak english so I could barely understand them. Once inside we were greeted by the owner Valentina, who brought us to our room, but did not explain anything to us or give us any information other than a long book with a lot of rules in it. We had no idea where anything was, or what to do.
    - Finally, when the rain stopped we ventured out to see where we were, and there was nobody around at all, and no information. We were really confused. We had a dinner planned but we were never told what the food would be or how much it cost....We thought the dinner would be with the family, but it was just me and my fiance sitting in a room alone without any music, ambience, or idea of what was happening. Again, she doesnt speak english and could barely even tell us about the food. The food was mediocre.
    - Thankfully the next morning we met DINO, who was basically our savior. He speaks perfect english and was super customer service oriented and amazing. So nice and helpful! He gave us a book about Sicily and gave us his personal recommendations about what to do and where to go. He advised us to go to Syracusa and it was one of our favorite spots! He also suggested a pistachio festival on the other side of Etna, which was so much fun! He was so wonderful and greeted us every morning and always was helping up out.
    - the next day - i was bit by the giant white dog Caeser...Valentina had zero empathy and basically said he was a temperamental dog and to not pet him...however the dog came up to me and pursued me...i am a owner of two dogs and two cats and i know how to interact with animals. he bit me out of the blue and it was really scary. if you have a lot of people staying at your house you should probably have friendly animals or keep them away from the guests. They also have at least 4 other dogs on the property. it was quite alarming to come home at night in the dark and open the gate where all the dogs look like they are guarding the property and barking nonstop.
    - The room itself was really small and the bed was extremely hard. The towels in the bathroom were the hand towels. Drying off after a shower was really interesting. Thank god they gave us nice robes to wear! (huge positive)
    - We needed to wash our clothing one night and Valentina fought with us because she said the clothes wouldnt dry. It was never written that they didnt have a dryer. And on top of that they refused to hang the clothes to dry outside or in the room they "normally" do because it was rented to another guest. She also refused to let us hang dry the clothing in our room. After arguing with us, she allowed us to hang the clothes in the washer room which was a room out back near the dog kennel that was tiny. It took about 3 or 4 hours to wash a tiny load of clothing.
    - Another thing that we found extremely strange was that they entered our room without asking us if we wanted service. We had no cleaned up and they were basically in our stuff and they took the book that Dino had given to us...so they had clearly gone through out items.
    - The breakfast items were the same everyday, fruit, salami/prosciutto, cheese, cereal, bread, and some cake/pastry. It was basic but good.
    - the grounds were beautiful. lots of nice trees and plants all around. beautiful building. although it is deceiving in the picture because it shows a LARGE beautiful room with the old wine press, but that is actually not a room for guests. That is the room the family lives in. When you go to this place, there is no common house to spend time in with any type of services. They have a "living room" which is a small standalone building on the grounds that you cant even eat in. it isnt large enough for more than a handful of people. If other guests were in there, you wouldnt want to go in there.
    - on the site it says they have services that you can sign up for, but they were never mentioned once while we were there.
    - overall, the grounds are beautiful and DINO was amazing, but everything else was subpar. We would never go back there.
    **Important to note that the owners are extremely defensive and basically tell everyone that their reviews are not accurate.....just another example of poor customer service and experience. In a world where reviews are everything, you would think they would try to be better and not just act like they are perfect and that the guests are wrong. I feel bad for them.
    (Translated with Google Translate)

    Read the original
    • Stay: 10/2018
    • Traveller: Couples
    Agriturismo Casale Poggio del Tiglio answers
    Dear Kathryn,
    copy and paste the same review made in other places.
    We have already answered our answer on another site and we do not want to repeat.
    Defending oneself from lies is natural and spontaneous but we prefer to invite all readers to come and visit us, spend the holidays with us and experience first hand the serenity, beauty, hospitality and availability of our farm.
    Happy Birthday Kathryn be happier and less rancorous.
    (Translated with Google Translate)
    Read the original
    • Setting and surroundings
      7/10
      "Good"
    • Accommodation
      4/10
      "Mediocre"
    • Activities and facilities
      1/10
      "Poor"
    • Restaurant
      1/10
      "Poor"
  • 10
    "Amazing"

    "Relax and good food"

    10/22/2018

    The hospitality and availability of the owners is splendid. The ancient restored structure is very charming and comfortable with tasteful furnishings. The restaurant offers local dishes with excellent quality 0 km products. The rooms are beautiful, clean and with great attention to detail.
    (Translated with Google Translate)

    Read the original
    • Stay: 10/2018
    • Traveller: Couples
    • Holiday: Relaxing
    Agriturismo Casale Poggio del Tiglio answers
    Good evening Mrs. Rosanna, we are happy to read her here and her comment. Even happier than having our guest. truly beautiful people we will always remember. We wait for you, as agreed, in spring to enjoy a time certainly more beautiful than autumn. Thanks again
    (Translated with Google Translate)
    Read the original
    • Setting and surroundings
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Accommodation
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Activities and facilities
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Restaurant
      10/10
      "Amazing"
  • 10
    "Amazing"

    "Excellent location"

    10/18/2018

    For me and my girlfriend it was a beautiful experience, very relaxing ... the farm is surrounded by greenery, there are even secular trees, ... a marvel. The kindness and affability of this family are something exceptional in addition to a fairytale kitchen and a manic cleaning. Beautiful room and a well-kept swimming pool .... we will return again
    (Translated with Google Translate)

    Read the original
    • Stay: 10/2018
    • Traveller: Couples
    • Holiday: Relaxing
    • Setting and surroundings
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Accommodation
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Activities and facilities
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Restaurant
      10/10
      "Amazing"
  • 6
    "Average"

    "Nice plant"

    06/24/2018

    Once dinner was offered = very good menu. Car necessary. Etna excursion booked over the resort, should lead to the summit, but only went up to the cable car station, thereby very disappointing. The trip itself was very informative about lava, the Etna and other volcanoes and cave visit. Friendly staff with good breakfast / one-time dinner.
    (Translated with Google Translate)

    Read the original
    • Stay: 6/2018
    • Traveller: Couples
    • Holiday: Relaxing
    Agriturismo Casale Poggio del Tiglio answers
    thanks for your review. Even if we do not understand the vote ... put a 6 and write that dinner was good and the place as well. The excursion on Etna remember that we do not do it, we have only put you in touch with an authorized guide and the route is explained on the brochure.
    In any case, thank you for being our guests.
    See you soon.
    • Setting and surroundings
      6/10
      "Average"
    • Accommodation
      6/10
      "Average"
    • Activities and facilities
      6/10
      "Average"
    • Restaurant
      8/10
      "Very good"
  • 10
    "Amazing"

    "An unforgettable stay"

    06/05/2018

    The ideal place to spend a holiday between sea, culture, tradition and leisure. The room is very comfortable and equipped with everything you need and everything is clean and tidy. Breakfast is plentiful, varied and full of cakes, jams and juices. Excellent lunches and dinners.
    (Translated with Google Translate)

    Read the original
    • Stay: 5/2018
    • Traveller: Families with children
    • Holiday: Fun
    Agriturismo Casale Poggio del Tiglio answers
    thank you very much for the nice words and especially thanks for choosing us. Having guests like you repays the efforts we make to try to offer good service. we look forward to seeing you soon and the dogs are waiting for you, especially the puppies that have played with you.
    (Translated with Google Translate)
    Read the original
    • Setting and surroundings
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Accommodation
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Activities and facilities
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Restaurant
      10/10
      "Amazing"
  • 10
    "Amazing"

    "Very beautifull"

    05/30/2018

    Beautiful, clean, very comfortable and familiar environment in a unique context of nature and culture. There are all the comforts you could wish for: relaxation, good food, just minutes from the sea, swimming pool surrounded by greenery and excellent advice from the owners who are always friendly and helpful.
    (Translated with Google Translate)

    Read the original
    • Stay: 5/2018
    • Traveller: Couples
    • Holiday: Relaxing
    Agriturismo Casale Poggio del Tiglio answers
    Thank you so much for your review and for being our guests. We are waiting for you if you decide to return to Sicily. See you soon
    (Translated with Google Translate)
    Read the original
    • Setting and surroundings
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Accommodation
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Activities and facilities
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Restaurant
      10/10
      "Amazing"
  • 10
    "Amazing"

    "Nature, goodness and a lot of sympathy"

    05/22/2018

    Beautiful farmhouse surrounded by nature, in the morning the alarm is given by birdsong. The location is strategic for visiting the area. Very suitable for families with children, there is a large nature park. Friendly and helpful staff, attentive to customer needs, breakfast, lunch and dinner with traditional dishes and ingredients at 0 km, exaggerated portions, all too good.
    (Translated with Google Translate)

    Read the original
    • Stay: 5/2018
    • Traveller: Families with children
    • Holiday: Fun
    • Setting and surroundings
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Accommodation
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Activities and facilities
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Restaurant
      10/10
      "Amazing"
  • 10
    "Amazing"

    "To be sure to come back"

    05/17/2018

    Obtained from an ancient millstone of the 800, they have maintained the original architectures, the result is wonderful. The huge park that surrounds it, as well as having a great variety of ancient and rare trees gives the opportunity to walk immersed in nature. The management is friendly, friendly and helpful, the cuisine is traditional and from breakfast to dinner, homemade dishes and typical local dishes are offered. To be sure to come back.
    (Translated with Google Translate)

    Read the original
    • Stay: 5/2018
    • Traveller: Couples
    • Holiday: Romantic
    • Setting and surroundings
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Accommodation
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Activities and facilities
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Restaurant
      10/10
      "Amazing"
  • 10
    "Amazing"

    "Paradise in Earth"

    05/11/2018

    We stayed in this farm in April, a beautiful property located in the wonderful land of Sicily. A real corner of paradise, a real blackout from the hectic routine, where you can taste local dishes, in an elegant and familiar environment and where reigns a beautiful harmony.
    (Translated with Google Translate)

    Read the original
    • Stay: 4/2018
    • Traveller: Independent travellers
    • Holiday: Short stays
    • Setting and surroundings
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Accommodation
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Activities and facilities
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Restaurant
      10/10
      "Amazing"
  • 10
    "Amazing"

    "Wonderful"

    05/07/2018

    Easy to reach and with a spectacular view, all around a wonderful vegetation, typical of the place. The room was very nice, it is also ideal for those in need of peace and relaxation. You eat very well, at breakfast there was everything and everything quality. All available and courteous
    (Translated with Google Translate)

    Read the original
    • Stay: 4/2018
    • Traveller: Couples
    • Holiday: Relaxing
    Agriturismo Casale Poggio del Tiglio answers
    we thank you for the beautiful words used and we are very pleased to have been able to help you to spend some beautiful days. We are waiting for you in the summer to visit the rest of the places we have suggested. See you soon
    (Translated with Google Translate)
    Read the original
    • Setting and surroundings
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Accommodation
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Activities and facilities
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Restaurant
      10/10
      "Amazing"
  • 8
    "Very good"

    "A great location for visiting the Mt Etna park area"

    10/23/2017

    We made a last minute decision to visit Mt. Etna and Valentina was responsive and accepted us with the children and agreed to provide a lovely dinner for us. We enjoyed the stay, the location was great, the food was amazing, especially the wonderful breakfast in the garden with homemade pistachio cake, fresh fruit and marmalades. Dino was helpful to us in planning our visit to the area and very friendly, speaking English well. A very good value.

    • Stay: 10/2017
    • Traveller: Families with children
    • Holiday: Artistic-cultural
    Agriturismo Casale Poggio del Tiglio answers
    thank you for being our guests and for your words.
    we hope to welcome you back on a next occasion and give you more services and more pleasure in being with us.
    Thanks so much
    • Setting and surroundings
      9/10
      "Excellent"
    • Accommodation
      7/10
      "Good"
    • Activities and facilities
      9/10
      "Excellent"
    • Restaurant
      9/10
      "Excellent"
  • 10
    "Amazing"

    "Lovely place near Mt Etna"

    10/03/2017

    We spend 2 nights here in September 2017. It's a beautiful house with a big garden and a large swimming pool. Mt Etna, Taormina, Alcantara etc. can be easily reached. Really nice people (Valentina and others) that tried to make our stay as comfortable as they could, helping out with our itineraries as well. Breakfast has everything you need and diner outside in the garden was just superb with a great Nero d'Avola wine. Definitely a really good place with perfect location and nice people.

    • Stay: 9/2017
    • Traveller: Couples
    • Holiday: Great food/wine
    • Setting and surroundings
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Accommodation
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Activities and facilities
      10/10
      "Amazing"
    • Restaurant
      10/10
      "Amazing"
  • 6
    "Average"

    "Not what we expected from an Agriturismo "

    10/01/2017

    The Casale is not located surrounded by nature and certainly not "uncontaminated". It is located in a heavily built up area, very close to the main road but indeed on the borders of the Etna park. The surrounding roads and lanes are strewn with rubbish. So not at all as described in the website. The house itself is very comfortable and well appointed, located within a walled garden of pine trees. The rooms are as shown.
    We had ordered dinner on our first night, but this was not available. The second evening we ate a very pleasant meal. The third evening, again no dinner was possible. We certainly did not receive a particularly warm welcome. There seemed to be many restrictions and instructions on what was allowed and not, but not always clear instructions eg the possible fine if one did not sort out one's rubbish but no clear guidance as to what was required or the location of the bins. Little flexibility about cancelling, 3 days in advance, our 4th night booking once we realised how far we were from the airport and how much time it would take to get there. The positive feature was the presence of Dino who did his very best to provide everyone with a pleasant stay.
    Wifi provision is very poor. Guests should be warned of the large number of dogs, not only in the Casale, but also in the surrounding properties leading to much barking at night and disturbed sleep ( and I like dogs!).

    • Stay: 9/2017
    • Traveller: Groups of friends
    • Holiday: Artistic-cultural
    Agriturismo Casale Poggio del Tiglio answers
    kind guest,
    sorry for his comment. While respecting its point of view we have to clarify some aspects:
    1) Casale is immersed in 10,000 meters of park with over 150 secular trees and over 200 varieties of plants. I do not understand what you mean by nature.
    2) The surrounding area may not be of your own liking but you can not judge us for that.
    3) Did you want to go away a day earlier on the second day of stay on 4 (which then became 3) ... what flexibility do you ask for?
    4) The wi fi works throughout the park, up to the parking lot and all the rooms. It may sometimes be a bit slower but this depends on the number of connected people.
    5) In the confirmation email we wrote about the presence of our dogs. On dogs around the area, being open countryside (3 sides on 4) we can not control them.
    6) We keep separate garbage collection and we have an area with bins and in each bin is indicated in all languages ??what to throw. I do not know what we should do more ... To make the guests aware of the separate collection (that in your country do!) We say that at the end of stay if not done they will have to pay 1 euro total !!! It's an absolutely symbolic thing as all the guests understand well.
    Your review contains many dissenting notes, I think your only discomfort is that you started a day earlier (instead of 4 nights, 3 nights) and you communicated it on the second day and did not want to pay ... frankly a request a bit strange.
    • Setting and surroundings
      0,5/10
      "Poor"
    • Accommodation
      7/10
      "Good"
    • Activities and facilities
      4/10
      "Mediocre"
    • Restaurant
      4/10
      "Mediocre"
Loading
Farmhouse added to favorites
Farmhouse removed from favorites